Taking A Drawing Course

I wanted to hone my drawing skills and just been drawing things aimlessly. Just a couple of weeks ago I stumble to a YouTube ad, AdBlock had crashed while afk, of The Ultimate Drawing Course on Udemy. Cause of the enthusic voice of the instructor in the video I had to check it out. With the very generous set of previews of the course and a sale I signed up.

First lesson is an to draw an eye to follow thru as a test on where your drawing ability is. He said that by the end of the course I will draw another eye and compare the first one to see the improvements to it.

img_20180805_1906321
Eye drawing for the course

Next set of videos is about working on lines fundamentals. The usual of keep drawing different lines on a paper. Then contour lines, lines that makes basic shape and some details. One of  his subject is a boot mine is a sunflower. Here’s a few images of what I made following the lesson

img_20180805_195321
Line exercise of different lines

 

img_20180805_195652
Line exercise where you look on the object only never in on the paper.
img_20180805_200224
Line exercise of random objects both reference online and around me
img_20180805_204551
A sunflower drawing that is mixed of the second and third exercise.

Now do not let that sunflower drawing fool you, it comes from a tricky exercise where you have to look more on the subject/reference while drawing. The line subject finishing off with cross contour lines, lines which gives shape a from. Think of a circle becomes a sphere. The instructor coming back the his boot drawing he uses cross contour lines to refine his drawing.

Now that is where I will continue the course is to refine the sunflower drawing with cross contour lines. And as an assignment I will do several other objects.