Painting Howling Wolves

img_20180810_172634
Ahwoooo!!

So here is my second painting Howling Wolves. I just have these in my mind to I test it of I can paint something I imagine/want.

Forewarning other than the sketches the process images of the painting has been taken months ago.

These are the initial sketch for the painting. the small one is the initial idea that three wolves howling at the moon. I can also say that this is a study as I was drawing different wolves before I settle with these trio. I think my source on these are at Pinterest.

img_20180810_173904
Top is the initial sketch the lower right corner is the initial idea for the painting. Bottom getting playing with the wolves position and perspective
img_20180810_173709
A larger drawing of the painting. I can’t remember the order is made.

What I want on this piece is a purple night sky with a moon. I mixed a blue and red to make a purple I wanted it more dark I added a bit of black. I forgot to take a picture of the just the purple in the canvas but I can see that novelty of a solid color painting. The moon just strait white painted in after letting the purple dry for a few days.

img_20180428_095152
Background purple night sky with full moon

Next step was adding the trees. Black mixed with blue and brown. My initial blue paint that I used on the Fruit Bowl was very strong looking closely into it it’s more of a blue black. Here I used a different blue paint and brown and just went with it on the canvas. This is The first time I’ve used a fan brush and went with it ala Bob Ross and painted the pine trees.

img_20180501_194211
Trees are added

And then I painted the each wolf once the black trees dried. But unfortunately I didn’t take pictures as I go so here’s the process. Small amount of white to sketch the initial position and then the initial shape. Then more white to fill out the wolves shape as an undercoat color of their fur. Painting in the fur color is next, strait brown on the middle, grey on the right and a golden brown on the left.

Initial finish painting

Now after a day of drying and getting a good look at it with fresh set of eyes, I noticed the left most wolve does not look like one at all but more look like a bear joining in. So a bit more white at the edge to fill up the especially on in ears and more of the golden brown paint to transform the bear to a wolf, tho a chubby one, compare it to the top image.

My thoughts about the painting and it composition. First I wish I put more details on the moon and shows I don’t how to blend it’s edges well yet.  The length of the trees balance on who the wolves are position, tallest trees on the left where the wolf is the shortest. the the right most wolf is standing and has tree on that side cut off cut off. The second tree from the right goes past the moon. The middle wolf’s body was planned to come from the left turning it’s head to center. But that’s on my own limitation on not very good at perspective at the moment.

That’s it about my paintings for now. Got a more planned out I can at least share the planning stages of my next work.